April Recognition Ceremony & Annual Meeting Honors New CPAs, Scholarship Recipients & New Board Officers

The RI Society of CPA’s Annual Meeting & Recognition Reception was held on Tuesday, April 23rd at the Providence Marriott. A capacity crowd attended the event which honors newly certified CPA’s, scholarship winners and others making significant contributions to the Rhode Island Society of CPAs or the profession. The event also marked the annual transition of leadership for the RI Society which included the installation of a new Chair, new officers and members to the Board of Directors. Attendees included representatives from the finance sector, business associations and industry groups from Rhode Island and southeastern New England. Outgoing board chair David Lucier told the group he was proud of the accomplishments the Society achieved over the past year.

The 2019-2020 incoming Chair of the Board of Directors is John C. Ayers, a Financial Advisor at Morgan Stanley in Providence. He succeeds outgoing Chair David J. Lucier. Additional board officers include: Marianne Caserta, Chair Elect; Erica Guatieri, Vice Chair; Daniel Bonnette, Treasurer and Edward Yazbak, Secretary. New members to the Board include: David Almonte, Christine Cannata and Michelle Forcino. Additional directors include: Karen DelPonte, Joseph Goldberg, David Krekorian and Brendan McCorry. Outgoing board members Barbara Perino, Jennifer Freitas and Michael Kraten completed terms this year and were recognized for their service.

RISCPA President Melissa Travis presented citations from the Office of Lieutenant Governor Daniel McKee to award winners and newly certified CPA honorees. “Our April Recognition event marks a special occasion for the entire RI Society of CPAs as we welcome this new generation into the profession,” Ms. Travis said. “This talented group of young professionals represents the next chapter at RISCPA and will position the organization for growth.”

The evening also included the elevation of a new Board Chair. “I am deeply honored to become the new Chair of the Board of Directors of RISCPA,” said John Ayers. “The RI Society Board has a deep well of talent and it is a privilege to serve with such a distinguished group of professionals and I am personally very grateful for having served in recent years with our dynamic outgoing Chair David Lucier.”

The Carl W. Christiansen Scholarship Fund was awarded to Villanova University Senior Amanda Andsager, Bryant University Senior Cameron Moniz; Bryant University Sophomore Angelica Provost and University of RI Senior Alexandra Roberti. Moniz and Provost each received additional scholarships, the Cheryl A. Ruggiero Award (Provost) and KLR/Brian A. Altomari Memorial Scholarship (Moniz). “We salute the academic achievements of our Scholarship winners and extend our sincere wishes for continued success as they pursue their professional goals,” stated Ms. Travis.

Other highlights of the evening included a Keynote Speech from Ernie Almonte, a past President of RISCPA and former Auditor General to the state of RI who spoke about preparing for the unprecedented challenges the accounting industry is facing. A complete list of newly certified CPAs and award winners can be found on the Society website: https://www.riscpa.org/


Back to News